Saturday, December 5, 2015

How to Deactivate or Delete a Facebook Account

how to delete a facebook account
The two questions that I get probably more than any other lately is how to deactivate a Facebook account or how to delete a Facebook account. I did a little research and here is what you need to know.

First, you should know the difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account. Deleting the account means you can never reactivate it and you will no longer be able to retrieve anything you've posted including pictures and videos. This is pretty much the nuclear option. You essentially will be completely wiped from Facebook.

Deactivating an account is essentially still there, but not accessible. It can be reactivated when/if you chose and your content will be preserved. If you are having a bad Facebook day and just want to take a "time out" from Facebook, this is the much more desirable option.

How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account:

  1. Click the account menu all the way to the right in the blue Facebook header bar
  2. Select Settings
  3. Click Security
  4. Choose Deactivate your account then follow the steps to confirm

How to Delete Your Facebook Account:

  1. First, be sure to download a copy of your account so you will have all the content you've uploaded over the years.
  2. Next, while logged into your account, contact Facebook to let them know you'd like to delete you account.
Please note, Facebook account deletion can take up to 90 days to fully take effect.

Image credit: Sammynetbook via flickr

No comments:

Post a Comment